Banner - Jumping For Fun




The Pointing Forum

Archived Reviews


Monday 4th May 2015
by Brian & Gill Armstrong

Trainer Teresa Clark followed up Bathwick Scanno's Sunday Holnicote success with a double in the first two races at Littlewindsor. She led off with Next Surprise, who made all in the 2m-4f Maiden to provide Will Biddick's 51st winner of the season. Next Surprise was bought privately from Liam Corcoran to replace Grey Dream, who has missed the 2015 season. Will is now unbeaten in three rides this season for Teresa – "we'd better stop now on a 100% record," she smiled.

Teresa doubled up with Redlynch Rock, a comfortable 1½ length winner of the Restricted under Robert Hawker. Winner of the 2m-4f Maiden at the 2013 corresponding meeting when trained by Richard Barber, Redlynch Rock is owned by Scott Sillick and Katie Bennett, who may ride the seven-year-old in Novice Riders' races.

John Daniell took his win tally into double figures by staying on better than The Magherally Man in a keenly contested Ladies' Open, where the first four home finished within 1½ lengths of each other. Named after the late 1961 National Champion rider, John Daniell was described as a "real little trier" by connections and may now be aimed at a maiden hunter chase.

Cock Of The Rock may go summer jumping after his comfortable Men's Open win. Before The War and Bellsinni Ron made a lot of the running, but neither had any answer when National Novice Champion-elect Harry Cobden produced Cock Of The Rock approaching the last. Bought from Welsh owner-trainer David Brace prior to the season, Cock Of The Rock is now unbeaten in his last four outings.

Another ex-David Brace horse, Knight Blaze, took the Conditions contest under Philip Hobbs employee Nick Lawton, who stole the race by kicking clear five out and just holding Alice Mills' challenge aboard Canada Coombe. The winner is one of four horses owned and trained at Lawford, on the Quantocks, by George and Debbie Beilby.

Castle Cary owners Raymond and Evelyn Targett's familiar black and yellow colours were back in the winner's enclosure after Robbie Henderson steered Kernel Victor home in the 3-mile Maiden. "This horse is the apple of my eye and reminds me a lot of [10 point-to-point race winner] Rockwithacaveman, who was also by Old Vic," said Polly Gundry, representing Ottery St Mary trainer Ed Walker.

Owner Bill Dupont achieved his ambition for the season when Josh Newman steered Mangans Turn home in the Hunt race. Josh had to work hard at times during the contest, but Mangans Turn became a comfortable winner after his renowned stamina kicked into play in the closing stages.

The Wessex Area Pony Open Finals were won by Olive Nicholls aboard Angelic (138cm race) and Fergus Gillard riding Hawkesfield Flyer (148cms).


Open Maiden 456&7yo, 2m4f (12 ran)
1. Next Surprise (IRE) (W Biddick, 5-4F); 2. Askers Lad (Miss A Mills, 33-1); 3. Mystery Edition (IRE) (Robert Hawker, 5-1). 5min 35s. ½l, Hd. (Teresa Clark)

Restricted (5 ran)
1. Redlynch Rock (IRE) (Robert Hawker, 7-1); 2. Never Says Never (W Biddick, 1-4F); only two finished. 6min 38s. 1½l. (Teresa Clark)

Ladies Open (6 ran)
1. John Daniell (Miss A Bush, 2-1); 2. The Magherally Man (IRE) (Miss L Mahon, 4-6F); 3. River Indus (Miss H Tucker, 25-1). 6min 33s. 1½l, Nk. (Ollie Bush)

Mens Open (4 ran)
1. Cock Of The Rock (IRE) (H Cobden, 4-7F); 2. Before The War (USA) (R Henderson, 9-4); 3. Bellsinni Ron (IRE) (W Biddick, 3-1). (Rachael Green)

CA Club Members Confined Conditions (6 ran)
1. Knight Blaze (N Lawton, 7-1); 2. Canada Coombe (Miss A Mills, 14-1); 3. Barneys Mate (C Barber, evensF). 6min 37s. Nk, 2l. (Debbie Beilby)

Open Maiden (7 ran)
1. Kernel Victor (R Henderson, 6-4); 2. Wotzizname (IRE) (W Biddick, 5-4F); 3. Gleann Ri (IRE) (Miss C Swaffield, 12-1). 6min 48s. 2l, 5l. (Ed Walker)

Hunt Members (3 ran)
1. Mangans Turn (J Newman, 4-7F); 2. Battle Bridge (IRE) (Miss C Swaffield, 6-4); only two finished. 6min 46s. 10l. (Jack Barber)

stop spam

Jumping For Fun - The FIRST dedicated Point-to-Point site on the www

Established 1998


© Jumping For Fun - All Rights Reserved